Auschwitz

Today was a tough day… We went to visit Auschwitz and Auschwitz 2 (Birkenau). I can’t even begin to explain the way I felt. I couldn’t even bring myself to take pictures of the museum with everyone’s old shoes and glasses and clothing that were found after the prisoners were liberated. Though this was an AMAZING experience for me, I wasn’t “happy” to be there. I couldn’t read the names of those who died, and I only glanced at some of the artifacts. Imagine standing where so many people once died? Today was a great day, but also a very tough one… Tomorrow I move onto the Czech Republic, so here’s to my last night in Poland!

Work makes you free

2 thoughts on “Auschwitz

  1. Maura Naples says:

    I remember a similar feeling when I visited the Holocaust Museum in DC. I can’t imagine visiting Auschwitz itself. Thanks for sharing …

    Like

Leave a Reply

