When a door closes, a window opens.

As some of you know, the past year I served as the Vice President of Event Planning for my sorority. This basically means that I planned all of our events from sisterhoods, to socials, to our formal (which is basically like prom but for college.) At first I went into the position thinking it would be a fun time, but quite frankly it wasn’t. While I was the “fun factor” of our chapter, it forced me to learn a lot about myself.

First of all, I was not as good at time management as I assumed I was. Try having to balance school work, a job, a decent sleep schedule, contracts, event venue shopping, decoration making, AND being the head of risk management all at once. There was definitely times I didn’t think I would be able to get everything done, but now I look back and I’m damn proud.

I also learned a lot about how nothing will ever make 100% of the people happy. No matter what you’re doing, there will always be someone who is displeased with your decision. I think I struggled the most with this, because I’m the type of person who feels sad when someone is sad with me, but I’ve learned to do what’s best no matter what.

I think I just grew up in general from having this position. I’ve never had so much responsibility, and it’s forced me to mature quite a bit. I just found out I was selected to be the next Vice President of Administration for Panhellenic at UT. Panhel is basically the board in charge of all sororities in the nation (theres 26 of us including Pi Phi), and I get to be one of the 10 women in charge of it at my school. I am beyond excited to continue to grow and step out of my comfort zone.

I just registered for my first semester of senior year (I’m ahead in credits,) and I’m starting to look into what I want to do with my life. It’s a really scary thought, and I think I keep pushing off talking to my advisors because I don’t want to grow up. I do have an internship lined up this winter break at a prosecutors office though, so hopefully that goes well! I don’t think I have much going on for the rest of the semester, but I’ll keep you guys updated with my shenanigans!

 

One thought on “When a door closes, a window opens.

  1. Maura Naples says:

    Don’t grow up too quickly, Kayla. Being an adult isn’t all it’s cracked up to be. Enjoy your youth, your freedom. Rebel. Travel. Explore. Keep up those shenanigans! Settling down is … well… settling. There’s time enough for that.

    Like

Leave a Reply

