Having an average month in a really good life

So I haven’t written in almost two months which is crazy because I’ve been living a whirlwind life. I have a lot going on, so I figured I’d fill you all in.

First off, I’m taking four classes for my major, so I’ve literally been DROWNING in schoolwork. At first, I was kind of half ass-ing my schoolwork just trying to get it done. I wanted to at least make sure I didn’t miss any assignments, and I wasn’t handing in my best work. My teacher (my favorite teacher, may I add) pulled me aside after class and basically told me to get my head out of my butt because we both knew I was a lot more capable of what I was doing. An hour later, I texted my boss and told him I couldn’t be working five days a week anymore because it was hampering my schoolwork, and since then I’ve been trying harder again. I have this teacher for two classes and they’re the hardest two classes I’ve taken at UT, which has made me even more stressed. But good news! After getting 70s on my first exams in both classes, I put my mind to it and got an 84 on my second test in Abnormal Behavior and Criminality and a 98 on my second test in Criminal Profiling! I know that seems so uninteresting, but I’m really just so happy to have earned those grades.

Another great thing that happened is I got chosen by my sorority chapter to go to Pi Phi’s convention this June. Convention is held once every two years, but this year is extra special because it’s our 150th anniversary. That’s why I’m so grateful that I’ve been selected. It’s clearly a once in a lifetime opportunity, and I’ll get to meet more Pi Phi’s from across the country as well as seeing some of the women I met at the Leadership Institute I went to this past July.

As some of you know, I’m graduating a semester early this December. It’s crazy to think about the fact that eight months from now, I either will be getting ready for grad school, or applying for a real job. I’m still up in the air about what I want to do after my undergrad, but I’m working towards it. Just an hour ago, I registered for my final semester. Don’t laugh, but I’ve completed my major requirements as well as my core requirements already, so I’m just taking foof classes to get to the 124 graduation requirement. Next semester, I’ve signed up for Juvenile Delinquency (the only class that has to do with my major), Beginner’s Sign Language (which I already took two years of in high school), Intro to Art Therapy, Beginner’s Jazz, and an Aesthetics and Creativity class (which a friend said you basically just draw and make projects the whole time). I know those classes seem like I’m taking the easy way out, but I’m excited to dip my feet into something new before I graduate. I’m also applying for a Victim’s Advocacy internship this summer, so hopefully that plays out in my favor.

While I was gone, I went to the Bahamas on a cruise for spring break, flew to Chicago for my cousin’s wedding, and went home for the weekend for a Brown family party. Life has been crazy and adventurous. I have formal tomorrow which is basically the sorority version of prom, so I’m excited for that. I’ll keep you all updated as life goes on! Thanks for keeping up with me 🙂

17190700_10208388522217002_7440410114347658345_n17265286_10208457393538742_7403526616706332028_n

Leave a Reply

